Installation options, clarification required

Hi, I am totally new to homeassistant and spent some time trying to install. I need help to resolve much confusion between installation options. I have seen may attempts to clarify, but I am still not totally clear so any help would be appreciated.

Attempt 1. Install on local OS using pip works fine (sudo pip3 install homeassistant), I can get the UI on port 8123 and can configure dashboard, all good, but there are no addons as shown in the hass dot io install option.

I read that it needed to be a hassio home assistant docker image for the add-on feature.

My hardware is aarch64, docker is version 18.06.1-ce, and I followed the installation instructions to install corresponding docker image for aarch64 as follows;

wget “https://raw.githubusercontent.com/home-assistant/hassio-build/master/install/hassio_install”

chmod 701 hassio_install

./hassio_install -m aarch64

then I run portainer as follows

sudo docker run -d -p 9000:9000 -v /var/run/docker.sock:/var/run/docker.sock -v portainer_data:/data portainer/portainer

I see three docker containers
hassio-supervisor
homeassistant
portainer

homeassistant is not running, when I start it, it stops after a few seconds with an error relating to incompatible container for aarch64, is that true

Now my confusion comes from hassio, is this the hypervisor or a container that I need to ssh into, should there be a hassio container that contains home assistant that is not there, what is difference between hass dot io and hassio and home assistant on hassio vs hassio-supervisor and home assistant containers,

This is what I found, please confirm or clarify,

IF you installed home assistant on Docker, you you are not running hassio.
If you are not running hassio, you will not have hassio menu or add-ons
You cannot “install” hassio on top of home assistant, it is its own instance of home assistant.