Installed on RPi4 - does plugging into my router mean HA is visible to public internet?

Hi! I’m new to HA and haven’t gotten things fully set up yet (waiting for a SkyConnect to get Zigbee sensors / switches up and running).

I will have my RPi4 physically connected to the router which provides my home internet (wireless and wired). I don’t have subnets or VLANs set up, and would have to study up on these topics in order to implement.

I found this post but still am unclear on what happens if I just plug the box running HA into my router. Doesn’t the router’s DHCP assign a public IP? Doesn’t this mean any rando with a port scanner can detect my HA instance (and potentially then compromise it / move horizontally in my network)?

So far, none of my home automation devices will use WiFi to communicate. It wouldn’t be a big deal to have my HA installation on a different subnet / VLAN, but I still want HA to be easily accessible from my phone and computer, so I can tweak my configuration without having to switch networks. How would I go about accomplishing this?

Thanks in advance!!

Hmmm actually maybe the answer is in the comment I linked above:

Inbound from the Internet. By default, on residential ipv4 connections (99% of US), by virtue of being behind a NAT, nothing is open.

I just checked my router’s firewall and yikes! Lots of ports were open to inbound traffic. I tightened things up a bit.

So now the question is, does HA phone home? Does it need any kind of port forwarding to run? How does it update itself, if configured?

No, your router assign a local IP to your HA( like it does for your other LAN devices)

No as above, it’s a local IP

As long as you don’t wan’t access from outside your lan, HA is available from any devices on your LAN through a browser, and on your Phones HA-APP

The “issues” in regards to VLAN and Acess from outside your LAN comes next, when ever you got your HA configured, and in a “state” where you need/want “outside” Access