Installing A mini switch in a ceiling rose (instead of the switch socket)

I noticed online a few posts around setting up mini switches, (for example the ZBMini) in the switch of a lighting circuit instead of in the ceiling rose.

This may work in some places with stud walls, but if your house is made of brick and mortar (even the internal walls). Then you’ll likely not want to chisel out the extra depth whilst damaging the decor and making a huge mess. Whilst insisting to your other half that this is all going to be amazing when it works.

So for me, opening up switches and modifying them to place the switch just wasn’t going to work.

In this blog, I’ll detail how to connect a smart switch to your light ring via the ceiling rose. I’ll talk about my reasoning behind some of my choices, and more importantly, it’ll be a reference for me later on. When i tackle the dimmable LED downlights.

Obligatory: I am not an electrical engineer and this is my observation only, do not attempt to repeat this unless you feel confident/competent enough to do so.

Note this is a non-dimmable setup. the smart switch “controls” the physical switch so using this setup will effectively stop any dimmable functionality

Note this is for UK light rings in the “Loop” configuration.

Note I’ll be using the UK new wiring standard throughout all my diagrams. But for the sake of simplicity i’ll refer to them as “live colour”, “neutral colour”.

Setting up and planning

My main thought process is, how can I do this safely, and with minimal disruption. And the answer was to place the switch in a junction box, and feed the wires into the ceiling rose. So it ends up looking a little something like this:

Whats going on here?

1. The circuit comes in from the left and feeds into the ceiling rose (loop in)
  2. The switch feeds its in/out/switch wires into the ceiling rose
  3. The circuit continues on its lovely loop around the house. (loop out)