Installing CLI tools in HA OS

Hi all, I’d like to understand the proper way of installing and running CLI tools and git repos. I’m an HA beginner with a fresh installation of Home Assistant OS on RPi4.

Use case: In addition to automating my home, I’d like the connect the RPi4 to a few arduinos using USB and program them using PlatformIO CLI (python). Specifically, I would like to install the PlatformIO commands, clone code repos, and SSH into the RPi to build and upload new versions of the code to the arduinos. If the RPi was running standard linux, this would be easy. What is the proper way of achieving this on the Home Assistant OS?

My current approach: I installed the Advanced SSH & Web Terminal addon, found a persistent folder outside the container (/homeassistant), created a virtual env in the persistent folder installing PlatformIO CLI in there, and cloned my code repo in the persistent folder. Now I can connect with the SSH addon, activate the environment and run the CLI tools. When executed for the first time, the PlatformIO scripts install the necessary libraries and tools. I noticed that some of these do not survive a reboot. Something is likely installed in the SSH container and needs to be reinstalled when the container is reloaded. My approach just doesn’t feel right.

I had a few alternative ideas:

• install HA in a container on the Raspberry Pi OS instead of using HA OS.
  • create an add-on that derives from the SSH add-on also featuring the PlatformIO stuff (that seems to go against the modularity idea of addons)
  • create an addon just for PlatformIO and somehow figure out a way how to access it from the SSH container (that feels right, but I’m not sure if it’s possible in this containerized world).

What’s your advice? Would I be better off with the Raspberry OS running the docker version of HA? Apologies if I’m not using the correct terminology.