Installing OpenzWave in fresh Hassbian

Hi All,

I have spent hours trying to follow other peoples help on here regarding getting OpenZWave installed and am pulling my hair out. I’m not very good with linux so everything is a battle. I’m hoping someone can point me to a thread or provide help here which is aimed at someone that doesnt know what they are doing!

My install is Hassbian (latest version downloaded this morning) on a Raspberry Pi 1B with a Razberry 1 card on it.

I can log into the Pi using Putty and WinSCP. I tried to edit the configuration.yaml in Win SCP but I got a permission error. Searching told me I need to be in user ‘hass’ or homeassistant’ (which one?) but ‘hass’ doesnt seem to exist and ‘homeassistant’ has no password yet WinSCP asks for a password when trying to connect with this user and wont accept a blank entry. Its killing me.

I must be missing EVERYTHING here because I really thought thuis would be easy after reading the installation instructions for Home Assistant but its proving to be rather difficult…

Can someone please help this idiot?

Cheers,

Dave

I’m prepared to be completely wrong when I say this, but…

Before you sort out all the issues you have alluded to in your post, you may find that you won’t be able to use your Razberry.me card with Hassbian, as it requires some drivers or whatever that are only available in the Razbian distro available from their website. What I had to do was install Razbian, switch off the services they use to start up their own interface, and then install homeassistant. Ymmv, but I thought you might want to know in advance :slight_smile:

As for the other bits you asked about…

User hass or homeassistant: In the older versions it was called hass, now it’s called homeassistant. So homeassistant is the correct one for you.