Integrating total house load into energy dashboard

Hi all,

I’m an absolute beginner to Home Assistant and would like to get the amount of money saved due to the solar energy I produced. I wasn’t able to find what I was looking for, but maybe I’m just too inexperienced to look at the right places…

To integrate my inverter and battery I’m using the Modbus configuration from here:

This creates the entities to fill the energy dashboard. The sources look like this:

What I’m missing is something like ‘total house load’ in the overview, which also calculates the notional total costs/income for the day (so far). If adding that to the sources is somehow restricted or difficult to do as a first thing, adding a card showing that would be sufficient as well.

Can anyone give me a hint on how to get started to integrate that thing?

I’m confused. That’s what the sources panel (your picture) is doing…

It has a sum total of all the energy used for the time period specified by the current selecton on the energy dashboard. And you have apparently specified your rates because some costs are being cacvulated…

So what’s wrong? Whats missing?

Hey,

thanks for your reply! What it’s showing the the consumption from the grid and what has been fed from the grid. What I want additionally is the “total house load” multiplied with costs per kWh to see what I’d have paid my grid operator if I wouldn’t have used solar energy.

An example with fictional numbers: I had a load of 10 kW and produced 15 kW solar energy. 90% of the load was covered by the solar energy, 10% came from the grid. So, notional costs would be 10 kW times €0.4 = €4. Actual costs are 10 times 0.1 times €0.4 = €0.4. Notional earnings would be notional costs plus energy fed to grid times fed-in compensation, e.g. €4 plus 5 kW times €0.081.

I’m not understanding ‘total house load’. Do you mean current Power draw?

Are you talking power or energy?