Integration of heatpump „iDM Terra ML Complete HGL“

Hi together,

I switched my home automation system from OpenHAB to Home-Assistant and am very happy with the decision so far.

Of course, I also had to change the integration of my heat pump. Therefore I developed my own module for Home-Assistant.

Perhaps thats intersting for some of you.

I hope its OK that i link to my private blog:

Cheers
Tom

1 Like

Hope it’s ok if I hijack your thread here :slight_smile:

Today I was talking to the support of IDM and they told me that there is a way to communicate locally. It’s done via Modbus and they have to enable it (which they did for me)

@Galdan you don’t happen to have played with that yet? Cause even with the documentation I got from them I am not able to read proper values :frowning: But I am an absolute newbie when it comes to modbus…

Hi Georg,

yes i tried it and i wrote an article in my blog about this topic:

All modbus adresses you can find in this blog post:

Unfortuneately with the firmware version of my heatpump i could only read the values from 01 until ~15.

Hope that helps

Cheers
Tom

That is awesome @Galdan ! Very cool… Thanks for your help and great that you also already tried it… Can’t you get your firmware updated?

I also got a documentation from them with the same registers/addresses, but I can’t read any useful value out of it using the modbus integration of Home-Assistant.

Here’s an example. I only get super high or super low numbers that way.

modbus:
 - type: tcp
   host: 192.168.1.225
   port: 502
   name: idm_lwp

sensor:
 - platform: modbus
   scan_interval: 10
   registers:
     - name: Außentemperatur
       hub: idm_lwp
       unit_of_measurement: °C
       register: 1000
       data_type: float
       count: 2

I played around with count 1 and count 2 (not sure how many bits they use for their floats)
I tried offsetting registers by one (I read that that’s often necessary)