Integration of ladder programming or functional plan similar Step7

Hi developers,

you are doing a really great job. Thank you for this awesome project. I love it.
But I would like to request the above mentioned feature because in my eyes it is easier to manage than nodeRed for newbies. I’m a S7-PLC programmer and i know ST and SCL (Siemens) and so on as well.
DIN EN 61131-3
At some point of size of an automation node Red will be confusing.

What do you think? Will it be possible? Have I aroused your interest? :slight_smile:

Personally I never liked PLC programming. Ladder logic is strange.

If you don’t like Node Red (I’m not a fan either), try the GUI automation editor or YAML. There’s little that NR can do that the editor and/or YAML can’t.

1 Like

Node-Red is an open-source software project that is independent of the Home Assistant project.

Home Assistant can communicate with Node-Red via its API and custom nodes. In other words, a software developer created an interface between the two products.

If you know of an existing open-source “ladder programming” product that has an API, then perhaps there’s a chance a volunteer software developer can create an interface to connect Home Assistant to it.

If there’s no such open-source product, then the odds of someone creating it specifically for Home Assistant are low.

I don’t say that to discourage you, only to guide your expectations.

1 Like

I have never been involved in PLC programming either, but what I understand from it is that PLC programming is based on a different paradigm. Correct my if I’m wrong while trying to explain what I thing is the difference.

Usually PLC logic is based on a continuous loop evaluating states and executing rules in a pure deterministic way.