Intermittent filesystem errors / best practices?

Hi!

TL:DR:

1. how do i check the bootdrive for hardware fault in linux? (pref by ssh)
  2. is it ok to manually edit HA / ESPhome / etc config files via ssh? are there limitations to this (eg must i stop HA before modifying its yamls?
  3. if manual editing is ok, how do i take and KEEP ownership (or at least write permissions) to the /opt folder where all my HA type stuff is located? or should i not? why?
  4. is manually interfering with files / permissions, or something else a noob might do likely to cause the OS to flip into RO?
  5. ultimately, what is best practice for manually editing HA files while the system is live?

i’m new to linux, docker and HA (asides from HAOS on a pi), so please bear with me!

i’m running HA via docker-compose on ubuntu-server headless, on an i7 NUC with nvme (boot) + sata (storage) drives.

Every day or two i am unable to issue commands to the NUC via SSH. the filesystem has turned read-only, or i get IO errors like this one:
/usr/bin/dmesg: Input/output error
reboot (via power-button on NUC because sudo-reboot fails) fixes all issues - they only occur after a day or so of operation.

HomeAssistant automations, scenes, switches etc continue to function but i can’t add or edit them (of course because the underlying filesystem is RO)

searches show this indicates potential / imminent catastrophic hard-disk failure. (worth noting i have nothing i can’t afford to lose on the machine - /opt is backed up to gDrive via duplicati (also docker-compose)

i found smartctl and ran on the sata drive with no faults found, but this is hardly useful because it is the nvme drive i need to check. trying smartctl on the nvme drive yields:

[user]@[server]:/opt$ smartctl -a /dev/nvme0n1
smartctl 7.2 2020-12-30 r5155 [x86_64-linux-5.15.0-47-generic] (local build)
Copyright (C) 2002-20, Bruce Allen, Christian Franke, www.smartmontools.org

Smartctl open device: /dev/nvme0n1 failed: Permission denied