Internal Wi-Fi card not detected / No Wi-Fi driver?

Hello! I’m new to HA; hope this is the right place to ask for help.

I installed the generic HA image on an old Toshiba Laptop. It runs great, but Wi-Fi does not work. I really want to use it, but it’s not detected.

I tried Ubuntu 21.10 and Wi-Fi works out of the box. Fn + F12 toggles Wi-Fi and a red LED indicator on/off, so I made sure it is turned on.

• ‘netstat -i’ shows: wlp1s0, enp2s0 and lo

In HA all terminal commands show the Ethernet card, but the Wireless card is not detected. The key combo also works here and it’s turned on.

• ‘ha network info’ shows only Ethernet
  • ‘ha hardware info’ shows this (pastebin)
  • ‘nestat -i’ shows: docker0, enp2s0, hassio, lo and 6 times ‘veth____’
  • ‘nmcli radio’ shows everything is enabled
  • ‘nmcli device wifi rescan’ finds no device
  • ‘nmcli con show’ shows the connection I set up in the config file (and the Ethernet connection)

I got more information while running Ubuntu:

Edit: I also tried running HA as a VM in Ubuntu and bridging WiFi. It works, but it gets disconnected after 30-40 minutes for some reason.

I guess HA doesn’t have the driver I need? I don’t really know how drivers work in Linux. Is it possible to install it? Can I copy some files from Ubuntu to enable it?

I appreciate any piece of advice and I hope this thread will be helpful to other people too.

What Linux are you using under the generic HA image?

➜ ~ cat /etc/*-release

NAME=“Alpine Linux”
ID=alpine
VERSION_ID=3.14.3
PRETTY_NAME=“Alpine Linux v3.14”
HOME_URL=“https://alpinelinux.org/
BUG_REPORT_URL=“https://bugs.alpinelinux.org/

Shouldn’t this be the same for everybody?

Alpine Linux seems to include the Atheros drivers in the kernel, so there should be no extra files needed.

I was asking about the Linux distro, because some run a docker on a debian or ubuntu and then I might know what is going on.
Alpine Linux is a not a mainstream Linux and I am a bit lost then.