iOS Location Update - poor reliability, is this normal?

HA 0.42.4, iOS10.3.1 HA app 1.0.4

I have been testing the Location tracking of the app since the official release and get varying results…Sometimes it updates location but most of the time it doesn’t. I use owntracks on the same device and it’s pretty reliable.
Is this poor reliability normal? I was hoping to use the HA app instead of owntracks but can’t at the moment…
Manual update from the app works perfectly.

BTW- I get similar results with wife’s phone (she has an iPhone 6).

May be effective

Hi all,

I’ve observed very similar behavior, i.e. sometimes it updates on time and others it has a significant delay (especially when I arrive home). I may be missing something though…

BR

1 Like

I created a different method to get location / battery info from your iphone when requested. Once setup, it takes no maintenance afterwards as I have been using this for 3 yrs without modification. Please take a look if you want an alternative.

I’ve had the opposite problem. Owntracks will report that I’m leaving a zone within a few meters of it actually happening, but the HA app reports leaving the same zone at a much greater distance, or it could be that there is a delay on when it reports doing so. Either way, the automations that I have setup to trigger from entering/leaving the zone are not firing as quickly as they did when I used Owntracks.

I’ve added a simple extension to my automations that when our garage or house external doors open it does a request of my wife and my iPhone for location. This has been working pretty well so far and ensures when we are home HA knows.

Same problem for me I am afraid, the location are not reliable, often when I arrive home as above mentioned.

I use Apples home app for location. Its not the most elegent solution but it works.

Here’s what I do:

• Configure location in home app
  • Let the home app trigger a device that can be used in HA