Iphone appearing as media player

I’m new to home assistant, got my pi3 set up over the weekend and I’ve been learning mostly from the example configurations and forum posts.

I haven’t been able to find anything from anyone else about this…
My girlfriend’s iPhone is appearing as a media player in the home group (when I comment out the default_view). No play button but it appears in the Current entities list as media_player.[name]_iphone
sceenshot: http://i.imgur.com/dalMs1H.png

I’m using asuswrt for device tracking, discovery is on (we have 3 chromecasts, can’t get them to appear anywhere when offline and I think they don’t show up at all if discovery is off despite static IPs and they’re in the media_player array)

I know I can just use default_view to include only what I want, but why is it discovering the iphone and why can’t I find anyone else that’s even seen this?

I don’t have an iphone, but when I revived my old HP Touchpad with a LP ROM, I was seeing it in there as a media player as well. In my case I was wondering if it was the Chromecast app or using it as a Plex client. Does your gf have anything like that running on her iPhone like a plex or kodi client or AirPlay?

We both have plex clients (no plexpass, we just cast it) but her iphone didn’t appear as a media player until after she was asleep. History shows her phone was connected all night. If I’m looking at the right entity in the History window it went from not existing to “idle” just before 6 and I guarantee we were not awake then. I know she used her chromecast before bed but that was 6 hours earlier.

I don’t have an iPhone so I don’t really know how airplay works to know if her phone could be doing something with that.

My phone has not shown up while doing anything related to casting or plex. Plex server hasn’t shown up no matter what I try, but that’s a problem for another thread…

Any DLNA will show up.