Is a regex motion sensor group possible with template?

I’m looking to make my group binary sensors more intelligent so that when I add a new sensor to a room the group updates automatically.

For example, here is the current group config.

platform: template
sensors:
  hallway_motion_sensor_group_motion:
    device_class: motion
    value_template: >-
      {{ 
          is_state('binary_sensor.hallway_motion_sensor_01_motion', 'on')
            or 
          is_state('binary_sensor.hallway_motion_sensor_02_motion', 'on')
            or
          is_state('binary_sensor.hallway_motion_sensor_03_motion', 'on')
      }}

This doesn’t actually work, but kind of what I am trying to do. I’m not an expert so there is probably a better way to do this that I can’t think of.

{% set motion_state = 'off' -%}
{% for state in states.binary_sensor -%}
{% 
  if (state.entity_id|regex_match('binary_sensor.hallway_motion_sensor_\d\d_motion', true)) and
  (state.state == 'on')
%}
{% set motion_state = 'on' %}
{% else -%}
{% endif -%}
{% endfor -%}
{{ motion_state }}

Is there a way to accomplish this?

Why not simply create a group containing all of the desired motion sensors? When any one of the motion sensors is on the group’s state will also be on. When all motion sensors are off, the group’s state will be off.

You can also create an automation, triggered at startup and by Reload Groups, that dynamically builds the group. However, this seems like overkill unless you are in the business of adding new motion sensors every day.

Yes, this is what I normally do.