Is external access necessary?

Hi all I’m JECaine. I’m brand new to HA. I have an HA VM running on proxmox and so far it’s internal only. Sorry if this question has been asked a million other times, but I’m wondering if I need to have my HA server exposed to the public Internet in order to run certain automations.

I want to create a few location based automations but even though I have associated my family’s phones with their user profiles, and verified the location services, sensors etc are on, my location based automations are not working. So I’m wondering if HA needs external access in order to stay connected to my devices while off the network.

I checked the history logs of my services and it’s seeing significantly location changes, and I can look at gps info for my wife’s iPhone, but for my Pixel, it’s seeing me leave the house but says my location hasn’t changed. I’ve also checked the conditions of my automations where at least 1 person needs to be home when we’re both home and it says the conditions haven’t been met. So I’m wondering what I am doing wrong.

Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks
JECaine.

Is it necessary to expose your installation? No. Is it necessary to read external data? If the service requires it.

If you can get the location data internal and have HA read that you haven’t exposed the HA service to the outside world, but you have exposed some service.

Also, if you’re trying to do 1 person or the other being at home, use a group. If 1 person is home the group is home. Its much easier than trying to logic it all out through boolean conditions and if statements.

HTH

Thank you. I’m unsure what exactly I have exposed to outside since I’m getting conflicting information.

Also where do I create groups? I’m assuming you’re referring to groups similar to ADDS security groups, but where do I find that?

So far I have only looked on the companion app.

Thanks