Is it possible to read serial devices? ph meter, ec, temp?

I am working on my first home assistant project and have been coming along programming esp32’s for relays and humidity sensors, and writing some code for smart plug automation. My experience ends there. I am trying to connect an old “Martini/Milwaukee Mi 180 Bench Meter” and found the manual online at https://www.milwaukeeinst.com/es/db/doc/manMi180_ENG.pdf . I have no knowledge of serial or how any of this works but I have done a few hours of research with not many answers. From what I gathered this has different commands you can prompt for data and the unit will send the data which would need a template to be broken down into each sensors values (ph, EC, temp, TDS, NaCl)? Very new to this and wanted to know if anyone knew how to do something like this. I can’t get it to show up in terminal on my mac but that might be my fault, it doesn’t list anything special to put it in output mode. I went online and started to configure the serial yaml on home assistants page but am at a standstill with nothing I did bringing meaningful results. I really would like to use this meter as I got it cheap and can’t afford a new version as a college student. This is vital to the operation as those parameters are very important in hydroponics. Thanks

I think you’d be best to try an esphome uart integration, unless you can find a python library for the meters.

There are probably better ways to get hydroponic related values.