Is it safe to run the MQTT broker as root/administrator

Hi!
I’m new to the HA ecosystem and community.
I’m currently running Home Assistant OS 64-bit on a Raspberry Pi 4 Model B 4 GB and i’m just curious if that i should be woried about this line in the MQTT broker log: “Warning: Mosquitto should not be run as root/administrator.” or can i just ignore it?

It can open you up to potential security problems. IF someone found an exploit in mosquitto AND that exploit exists on the version you are running, AND they have access to the broker (probably via LAN since I doubt you are port forwarding your MQTT server), THEN they might be able to gain control of your little rpi server since any exploit would potentially now run as root access.

With this, someone could have an entry to your network from the outside to do…whatever with.

It’s a lot of IFs. I don’t think you should worry about it personally. But just saying what “could” happen. Unless you want to debug it, I think you’re fine ignoring it.

1 Like

It’s an important warning. It’s warning you against a bad practice. Accidents and hacks happen. What is preventing you from not running it under a root account?

1 Like

Thank you for your help!
I thought so myself too, but wasn’t sure about it.

Thanks for your reply!
Simply put, i don’t know how to do that, could you point me to the right direction on how to do that? Also it’s the official mqtt broker addon which i have this problem, running on the home assistant os.
Thanks in advance!

It should run under its own mosquitto user by default. Which installation guide did you follow and/or what are the exact commands that you executed? If I know that I could tell you where it went wrong.

Just want to add that I don’t want to make life difficult for you. It is your choice and I’ll try to help where I can. Personally I wouldn’t run any user service under root.

Thank you!
There were no commands used in the process it’s just the official Mosquitto addon.