Is it safe to use a Zooz Smart Plug on a 24/7 Server?

I am looking to track the energy usage of an Unraid server that is connected to a UPS. I have other devices connected to the UPS and I want to specifically track the energy usage of the server. Would it be safe to connect a Zooz Smart Plug ZSE04 between the server and the UPS? Or would you guys advise against it? Or possibly have other recommendations?

I heard some rare instances where the relay in the smart plug would trigger on and off in an endless loop causing the hardware connected to it to fry and die.

Appreciate any feedback or guidance :hearts:

I have no experience with the Zooz Smart Plug, however I saw the same warnings in regards to my cheap Gosund (Tuya) Smart Power Strip, when you flash it with ESPHome. I left it with just a lamp plugged in for a week and never saw the quick off/on behavior. I guess I’m lucky or have a newer version.

If you already have the Smart Plug, you could try the same.

I can’t comment about the particular hardware…

I have some Sonoff S31 with ESPHome. There’s a way that you can set them up to restore state on boot without running through their flash memory cycles too quickly, but that’s a side note as it’s not addressing your concern.

If I were to use one of these plugs on something critical, there is a way that you can remove the relay and bypass it with a piece of wire. There are guides out there for the S31 specifically, I imagine other models as well.

I’m using a laptop as a server, so I wasn’t concerned about the power cycling. Some people plug a UPS into their energy monitoring plug to mitigate power fluctuations.

That never happened here with any Zwave plug. Neocam, Qubino, Hank and Aeotec, all of them never fail on me.
And, they all can be configured to automatically switch on after main power loss. That’s a + too …

I have had a zen15 on my unraid server for a couple years without issue.

2 Likes