Is there a Language Reference?

I’m new to Home Assistant. I am now beginning to write scripts, automations etc. Is there a language reference somewhere? For example, in an automation, one has an “action”. What are the available options under “action”, data, service etc. I see data and service in the simple automation script made via the gui, but is there a language reference that would tell me all the possible automation action fields available/possible? I tend to prefer script via a text editor versus use gui tools and i’m seeking to learn. Similar question, why is platform a list? I can’t seem to find this type of information in one place, rather I look at several examples to try and decipher the options. Can someone point me to a language reference or give me some pointers as to how I get a better sense of the overall scope available when working with scripts, automations, scenes, etc.? Thanks in advance.

The automation docs are there, along with all the other things you need.

Once you’ve read the docs that should cover what you’re looking for, though a lot of the actions relate to integrations.

I assume you’ve found https://www.home-assistant.io/docs/ :slightly_smiling_face:
One of the issues with what you are looking for, is that there are (currently) 1615 different integrations, created by different people for diverse purposes and actions for, say, a light are different to those for, say, a car! If you find the integration (https://www.home-assistant.io/integrations/) it should tell you what services are available for that integration.

Thank you; much appreciated. Therefore, to see which items are required or available, I would look to the “integration” documentation even though the “action” field is specific to home assistant. I will follow that approach.