Is there better way to merge 2 arrays in Node-RED

Hi Node-RED experts. Is there a “better” way of doing this with Node-RED?
I’m using 2 current state nodes to return data from 2 different HA events. Both events return an array, which I then append together.

Screenshot 2024-05-08 114833

Screenshot 2024-05-08 114730

It works, I just wondered if there is a cleaner way to achieve this?
TIA

I am far from an expert in these things, but I don’t see that there is much that can usefully make this simpler than it already is.

You are using two current state nodes that each return the given entity details. I assume that you are using Octopus Energy integration and the ‘events’ rate sensors that hold the current and next day tariff in attributes.rates

You could reduce this to just one node, and directly read the first set of rates using $entity() and the second set of rates using the $entities() function. Set just one current state node to read current rates, then set msg.payload (or whatever) to JSONata:

$append($entity().attributes.rates, $entities('event.octopus_energy_electricity_XXXXX_XXXXX_next_day_rates').attributes.rates)

This seems to work for me - $entity() does the same as setting msg.data_new to entity.

Of course, there is the moot point that Node-RED is about visibility, and using three nodes (read one array, read the other array, join both) is preferable to a bit of JSONata hidden inside the output properties of just one node. Red-Green-Refactor?

And I checked, the array appears to be already sorted in ‘start’ period order, so the sort is probably unnecessary, unless you want to reverse the order (or if you append the arrays around the wrong way).

1 Like

Hey Geoff
The $entity() function has allowed me to get rid of that unnecessary message element.
I take your point on maintaining readability, so have left it as 2 nodes.
Thanks for the advice.