Issue with aqara p1 sensor with zigbee2mqtt - nothing exposed

hi

i am new to home assistant and zigbee2mqtt but starting small with the various zigbee devices i have.

have zigbee2mqtt working and have added 2 of my aqara sensors
the door/window sensor and the p1 motion sensor.
the door sensor is working fine, however the p1 sensor isn’t.

i’ve paired it and it’s listed in the mqtt devices

however, when checking the exposes everything is showing as N/A

and checking the map it doesn’t seem to have a connection line to the zigbee controller

i’m using a sonoff ZBDongle-E connected to a Pi4 running HAOS
usb-ITEAD_SONOFF_Zigbee_3.0_USB_Dongle_Plus_V2_20230508194433-if00

have i done something wrong?

The motion sensor in your image is the original, not the P1.

It also doesn’t look to have paired properly. When you’re pairing it you want to keep tapping the pair/wake button until the interview completes.

More importantly, you have no (Zigbee) routers. That’s fine for a single room and testing, but if you want to cover the house/flat/whatever then you need routers.

I hope too that:

1. You’re using a USB extension cable
  2. You picked a Zigbee channel clear of WiFi interference

ok, the non P1 version then.

i didn’t have to continually press the pair button for the door sensor for it to pair successfully, so assumed the same would be ok for the motion sensor.

i am planning on adding my hue bulbs/switches and ikea bulbs, but whilst testing have only added my aqara sensors. will that result in zigbee routers?

so how do i fix this partial pairing issue?
should i delete it and re-pair from scratch?

It’s a good thing to do with any end device (battery powered).

The bulbs yes, things that are mains powered (other than Sengled bulbs and most two-wire switches/dimmers) are routers.

That’s the best approach.