Issue with smartphone tracking, presence detection and Life360, and more specifically with offline devices

Hello Wizards!

It has been just a few weeks since I started playing around with my home automation software, and I am already stuck in a trap because of my lack of knowledge around the libraries of this platform. :slight_smile:

I started with a raspberry PI 4 but I realized very quickly that this environment wouldn’t be able to scale to the level that I was expecting and this was the reason why I decided to migrate my configurations to a docker container in my QNAP NAS server.

The issue that I am facing is related to smartphone tracking, presence detection and Life360. I started using Life360 to help me track my family smartphones but I realized that the quality of the sensor is questionable. During my research, I found an article from Phil Hawthorne where he explains how to enhance the HA presence detection mechanism through a state machine.

My implementation is very similar to what he suggested initially but I decided to introduce two additional sensors to help me filter part of the noise associated with Life360 and HA Companion App. I don’t know if there is a problem with my implementation but I noticed that both platforms don’t deal well with offline devices (smartphones) and weak connections.

Below is one of my routines from the automations.yaml file and how I am dealing with the state changes:

- alias: Update  Device Tracker Status
  id: update_device_tracker_status
  initial_state: on
  trigger:
    - platform: state
      entity_id: device_tracker.life360
  action:
    - service: input_select.select_option
      data_template:
        entity_id: input_select.status_dropdown
        option: >
          {% if is_state('device_tracker.life360', 'Home') %}
            {% if (as_timestamp(now())-as_timestamp(states.device_tracker.life360.last_changed)) < 300 %}
              Home
            {% else %}
            {% endif %}
          {% else %}