Jasco Enbrighten Z-Wave Outdoor/Indoor 40A switch

Hi all, I am new to Home Assistant and have been learning a great deal thanks to those who have written great how-to posts. I’ve been able to get things working (at least from a simple on and off automation for my lighting).

I recently moved to a house that has a pool and the associated pool pump that goes with it. I have purchased a Jasco Enbrighten Z-Wave Direct-Wire Outdoor/Indoor Smart Switch, 40A, Gray
to control the old single speed pump until I make some repairs to the pool itself.

Since this product is a z-wave device, I thought that it would work well with Home Assistant. I am able to use the app to turn the pump pn and off.
Unfortunately, I am unable to create an automation because when I select the device under actions, it says no actions.

My question is, has anyone used this in Home Assistant with an automation?

If so I need a bit of help with respect to this.

I don’t have that device, but there a few things that you can check. There are different ways to use devices in an automation: ‘Call Service’, Device or State (entity).
Open the device in your list of Zwave devices and see what entities it has. Those entities should allow to be used for actions if the device itself does not allow actions (though unlikely).
If you don’t see any entities than the devidce was not properly added to HA, and try an exclude and a re-include.

https://www.home-assistant.io/integrations/switch/

Find the Entity for your Zwave device. Then in the automation use call service and try one of the switch services like switch.turn_on , switch.turn_off

hope that helps. I have other Enlighten zwave devices, not your specific one. They do work well with home assistant.

I have the exact same device, and use it for the same purpose. When the device was added to Home Assistant, it created a number of entities. You want to use the switch entity in your automation. Here is a screen shot of my device.