Jinja experts: Better way to extract part of an MQTT topic name with template?

Hi all-

I’m very new to templates, so I’m hoping you can help.

I want to extract a portion of an MQTT topic name such as light_status_office/tele_ls/LWT or light_status_kitchen/tele_ls/LWT. I want to get the portion after light_status_ and before /tele_ls/LWT, for example, office or kitchen.

So far, I’m doing that as below, where topic3 = office. This works in dev_templates, but it seems kludgey.

{% set topic = "light_status_office/tele_ls/LWT" %}

{% set topic2 = topic.split("/")[0] %}
{% set topic3 = topic2.split("light_status_")[-1] %}
{{ topic3 }}

Is split the most appropriate filter to use for this? Can splits be nested, for example, so that there would be no need for topic3?

Overall, is there a better way to achieve the goal?

Thanks very much!
Ron

yes.

this will work:

{% set topic = (("light_status_office/tele_ls/LWT").split("/")[0]).split("light_status_")[-1] %}
{{topic}}

sometimes “kludgey” is the best you can hope for. :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

Thanks! I’ll give it a try.

Actually, I reworked it a bit and I came up with this:

{% set topic = (("light_status_office/tele_ls/LWT").split("_")[2]).split("/")[0] %}

It still uses the same number of nested splits but it’s a bit cleaner.

1 Like

Thanks again. One thing I didn’t mention… Some of the room names I need to extract have an underscore in them, such as master_bedroom. (None have more than one underscore.)

So, while the first suggestion works, the second chops off the second word of the room name. Is there a way to control for that case?

This is a huge help in understanding how split works.

try this then:

{% set topic = ("light_status_master_bedroom/tele_ls/LWT").split("/")[0] %}
{% if topic.split("_")[3] is defined %}
  {% set topic_split = (topic.split("_")[2]) + " " +(topic.split("_")[3])%}
{% else %}
  {% set topic_split = (topic.split("_")[2])%}
{% endif %}
{{topic_split}}