Just joined -- Intros used to be customary, and I'm old-school

Howdy, neighbors!

I was about to buy a Hubitat Elevation, but then I found Home Assistant. Since I already have an old laptop running Ubuntu 24/7 hosting my PLEX media server, I thought I’d give it another job to do. So HA is running in a Docker container on the Ubuntu laptop. I just bought a USB Zigbee/Z-wave interface, but no devices. So far, I have not even decided what needs to be automated, much less bought any compatible endpoint devices.

I’ve set up some automation at home using a Raspberry Pi to back up my laptop and some websites I operate. This is done with some bash scripting, and I’m quite happy with it. I do not plan to use the Pi for HA, since the laptop is much more powerful.

I’m a Linux admin/engineer by day, and we’re moving fast and furiously into automation and cloud technologies. I’m pretty familiar with yaml because we use it with Ansible. Since HA has a Docker install, that gave me an opportunity to tinker with Docker.

Since I’m in the technology field, I’m quite aware of the privacy and security tradeoffs that have to be made to use cloud-driven features (like voice) and I absolutely refuse to surrender the last shreds of my privacy and security over to Google and Amazon. So anything I do here will not include voice automation, until it can be brought “home” and function locally.

I’m thinking the climate control will be first HA integration, because my two home thermostats are about 20 years old. They’re programmable, but the process is really painful to set up and painful to change. But I’m open to other suggestions.

Cheers!

1 Like

Welcome,
The standard hassos install actually runs in a docker too but it’s a customised OS providing tighter integration (but equally some limitations too) AND pretty transparent to the user.
You are in at the deepend running with your setup but if you have issues, look for threads from kanga_who he’s one of our experts on such setups.