Just received a lecture from my partner about smart home items

Hi all,

Just received a solid 15-20 minute lecture from my partner about how my smart home obsession is making things more complicated for her. Just curious if others have similar experiences to share.

All I try to do is automate as much as I can and make things easier. I have been installing stuff for a few years now. Replacing all light switches, lots of smart lamps, smart locks, motion sensors, smart garage opener, etc, etc.

Just brought some NFC tags, and when I showed her, that was the tipping point lol

Cheers,
Zolt

My basic principle for home automation is it should not be noticeable and it should work without anyone needing to be trained.

My partner is delighted when presence detection makes her life easier (turn on/off the lights, etc.). She is annoyed if she has to remember a verbal command to have Alexia/Google do something. She likes the HA user interface on her phone that allows her to see and control various things (minimal training on how to use the app).

P.S. my partner approved this message :slightly_smiling_face:

5 Likes

What were her complaints?

The only things get from my SO is an eye roll and “why do we need to automate that?”

Because I can… :wink:

But she doesn’t do that much anymore and she’s asked me to automate more stuff over time and likes most of it now.

1 Like

Completely agree Mark about it not being noticeable. Each time she raises a concern, I fix it. Even redesigning the phone interface multiple times. See screenshot.

Her main complaints at the moment was the smart garage door not working how she wants. The smart door lock not always opening when she enters the “home” zone. Speaking random things to Google Home and complaining it doesn’t work.

Those are a legit complaints. You know it’s working right when you don’t get complaints :wink:

2 Likes