Known_devices.yaml then what?

Now that I have the BT devices listed in the known_devices.yaml what do I need in HA to use them? The devices listed are NOT enumerated in the Bluetooth section in Settings->Devices & Services
One is a Vizio Sound bar - I’d love to be able to announce alerts to this device.
Another is a BT keyboard - I’d love to use this as my keyboard when on the HA console.

Thanks for any suggestion. I’m new to HA and I need your help.

Known devices is just device trackers as far as I know.
The MAC adress is not enough to be able to TTS or use keyboard you would need some kind of integration.
A “hack” solution with the sound bar might be to have a phone connected to it all the time and use the soundbar as the primary sound output then TTS to the phone.

known_devices.yaml is a deprecated file for the device_tracker platform. That’s purely for here or not here reporting (or to be precise, home and not_home).

The device tracker platform doesn’t support playing media, or anything else, so you’d need another integration that supports them.

I’m not aware of any support for Bluetooth keyboards, and that wouldn’t even be a HA feature, but a HAOS feature.

What? Really? HA will track a keyboard moving from point A to point B? So is he Soundbar from point C to point D? My speaker now is the Google mini. When I installed HA, it automatically integrated the Google mini speaker. Why not a soundbar? Frustrating!

Because nobody has spent the time and effort in developing that.

If you think it’s frustrating that other people haven’t done so, feel free to do it yourself. How to develop an integration is well documented, you just need to learn Python, and then work out how to interact with the device.

Yes, I know. I’m used to it - researching. And asking the Community for help. Thanks for your input.

Only if point A is home and point B is not home.