Known issues with ‘external’ integrations on Synology? (Docker)

Good day to you all.

I hope you all are fine and can find to find to answer some questions and/or point me in the right direction.

I’ve been working with Home Assistant for 6 months now and so far, I suspect I am missing something. Since I did not have a RPI available I decided to use my Synology instead. I installed Docker on it and used the beta package of Frederike to install hass.io. To be honest, that went very smooth.

Because I did not want to open up my router (yet) or do difficult DNS things I subscribed to Nabu Casa for 5 dollars a month and after that, I first went for some ‘internal’ integrations. I started with some TP-Link devices, my Ubiquity network, the Synology NAS and also Z-wave. They al work like a charm. So at that point I started with some ‘external’ integrations and there’s where I have some serious doubts about my installation. I have integrated Apple iCloud, Siemens Home Connect and SmartThings but none of these seem to work properly. They are not updated, do not respond properly and all kinds of other strange behaviour.

I have used this forum to ask deatiled questions about these integrations but there’s not really a response. Is there anybody out there who could advice me about my installation or a way to get better insight of what is going on? Is it better to buy a RPI and start all over again? Should I check the Synology firewall or other (network)settings or can I do other things to get stuff working?

I am open for any suggestion so please let me know!

Best regards,

Gerard

First thing is to check your logs.

What is Frederike - that doesn’t sound standard.

Not sure also how you are distinguishing internal and external?

Hi,