KNX + Homeassistant

Hi all

I’m new to Homeassistant and I’m looking for some guidance.

I’m trying to help out my dad. He built a home around 15 years ago and has KNX installed along with Gira Homeserver 3. That hardware is old, but working reliably. However, he has no access to modern features like automation, voice assistant control via Alexa/Siri and the like etc. I’d like to modernise the house.

I already installed Homeassistant on my Raspberry Pi and plugged it into his homework.

From what I’ve gathered so far, I will need a KNX IP interface to get KNX controllable over the network, so I found this, for example: ABB KNX IP-Schnittstelle IPS/S 3.1.1 - kaufen bei digitec

I have not ordered it yet because I wanted to see, via this forum, whether I’m on the right track :slight_smile: .

So I’m ready to connect the existing Gira Homeserver to the network. I’m still missing that IP interface, but once I order it, I’m unsure how to proceed.

Here is a picture of the Homeserver’s backside and the cable going into it that comes out of the wall.

I installed the KNX integration in Homeassistant but suppose I’m missing some instructions on the hardware side.

Can you give me any pointers?

I also learned about Homey Pro but I’m not sure how that compares to Homeassistant as I have no experience with either system yet.

This is the image of the KNX connection coming from the wall.

I also just realised that I suppose the Gira Homeserver already provides an ethernet connection. We also have a pretty basic HTML page with which it’s possible to control the lighting in the house as well as various blinds.

I guess the question is… do I want to completely replace the existing Homeserver with Homeassistant on Raspberry Pi as the new “brain” of the house or can Homeassistant play along with this Homeserver box?

Yes it should be fine.