Last changed/Last updated

I find it extremely annoying that, upon restarting HASS, last_updated and last_changed get set to the current date/time, even in components that use the new state restoration feature. I use last_updated in a new React Native application that I am developing for the HASS community.

I would like to go about possibly fixing this and sharing my changes on Github, however I am not entirely sure how to start. I know that with restore_state we get the previous state object which has last_updated and last_changed. How would I go about setting those properties for an entity?

I could probably figure this out with trial and error (I’m not too experienced in the HASS system nor in Python), however I figured that I might as well ask the development community first! Can somebody help me out with this issue I’m having?

Thanks for reading!

4 Likes

It’s not possible. Last updated and last changed are maintained by the state machine and not the entity.

Also, restarting Home Assistant is not a common thing so I wouldn’t worry about it

I want to use those values for automation/front end so I think I’ll need to write a script to get them from the api and return them to a command line sensor. If I do that, I think that command line sensor would retain its value on restart which might help your needs.

I ended up not moving forward with the app, but did figure out how to fix this problem for myself and my own personal use. Maybe this will be helpful to anyone that finds this post:

Essentially, I wrote a small AppDaemon “app” that listens to HASS “EVENT_STATE_CHANGED” events and stores the “new_state” object, that is sent with each event, in a Redis database under a key which is just the entity_id. The “app” also publishes a message (using Redis pub/sub) with the same “new_state” object.