Learning Plan - For a Noob

As a noob, I was looking for a learning plan. There is a plethora of information but was hoping a step by step learning plan was out there somewhere. I could not find one. If you know of one, please advise. I thank you in advance.

I always think the best way to learn is to work towards a specific project. Keep it simple to start with and work up. Have you installed HA yet? There are several step by step guides.

Yes - I have the system up and running no problem. My first project is creating a remote for a Roku streaming stick. I have loaded the device via the Roku integration and the functionality is limited. So I wanted to make adjustments to the remote and media player.

Thanks. I have been using that but I have not been able to progress as fast as I would like so was hoping there were additional resources like Wolfgang Beer’s kindle book - just more robust and in-depth.

There’s this forum and the home assistant Discord channels to help you when you get stuck.

The problem with books, blog posts and youtube videos is that they go out of date very quickly as home assistant is changing quickly, but this video from Juan is relatively recent:

I have seen a few JuanMTech videos. He does a great job. Will review this and keep plugging away. Thanks.

It has been a while since I was in your shoes, but from memory when I was starting out this was my process:

1. Pick something to configure.
  2. Read the docs and integration configuration options.
  3. Search the web for tutorials on what I was trying to do. Searching “home assistant [thing i want to know]” and keeping an eye on publish dates.
  4. Search the forum, reddit and youtube.
  5. Ask on the forum what I’m doing wrong (with details of what I had done). Occasionally ask on Discord.
  6. Move on the then next item to configure.