Lifx Clean

I have a couple of the Lifx Clean bulbs, wondering if it would be possible to enhance the Lifx integration to include the clean mode (HEV light)

This way could run cleans through automations, i.e. at a certain time, or when someone leaves the house.

This is already exposed on the LAN protocol

I am a programmer, but not Python, but more than happy to dedicate myself and setup to time and testing to get this implemented.

Thanks!

Also super interested in this, just got a couple of clean bulbs myself - can’t help with the programming side of things but I’m definitely happy to be a guinea pig as needed for testing purposes!

1 Like

I sent a PR to the maintainer of aiolifx (the library which Home Assistant uses to interface with LIFX) which adds support for LIFX Clean bulbs: Adds support for HEV Light Control (LIFX Clean) by micolous · Pull Request #47 · frawau/aiolifx · GitHub

Once that is merged by the maintainer, it will then need someone (who’s more familiar with Home Assistant) to write something that calls the new HEV methods I added in that PR.

1 Like

While the aiolifx author is very cooperative, it has been an issue for some time that aiolifx does not track new LIFX products. If you are willing to donate time for this it would probably make sense to switch to Photons as the upstream library.

I added the HEV support to Photons and have been doing small updates to the core lifx integration too. If no-one else does it, I’ll take a look this weekend at adding support for HEV using aiolifx.

Edited for clarity. Porting to Photons is a way bigger effort.

So the first bit is done (starting and stopping an HEV cycle via a new lifx.set_hev_cycle service. Next thing is to add the default HEV cycle configuration as config entities, which shouldn’t take that long, hopefully.

1 Like

Awesome! Thanks for taking the time