Light dimmer trimming "virtual" instance

Hi, all!

I’m quite new to Home Assistant and I’ve just registered the account. I hope to be around.

At the moment I’m just experimenting with a simple setup in home assistant to dimm a light in my living room. The setup is HA → USB Zigbee → Zigbee dimmer → Lightbulb

I’ve added the required instances and it works as expected: I can switch ON/OFF the light and control the brightness. The only problem I have is the limits for min/max brightness are around 20-70% (anything below 20% doesn’t produce any light in the bulb, and anything above 70% won’t increase the brightness).

I’d like to make those limits more user friendly by adding a “virtual” entity to control the actual entity. So, I created the following template (I think that’s the proper name, apologies if it’s not):

- platform: template
  lights:
    hallway_pendant:
      unique_id: foo
      value_template: >-
        {% if is_state('light.zigbee_dimmer_1', 'on') %}
          on
        {% elif is_state('light.zigbee_dimmer_1', 'off') %}
          off
        {% else %}
          unknown
        {% endif %}
      turn_on:
        service: light.turn_on
        data:
          entity_id: light.zigbee_dimmer_1
      turn_off:
        service: light.turn_off
        data:
          entity_id: light.zigbee_dimmer_1
      level_template: "{{ state_attr('light.zigbee_dimmer_1', 'brightness') | float / 0.65 }}"
      set_level:
        service: light.turn_on
        data_template:
          brightness: "{{ state_attr('light.zigbee_dimmer_1', 'brightness') | float * 0.65 }}"

(don’t worry if the 0.65 factor doesn’t make any sense with my above definition of 20-70 limits, I just wanted to make a quick test)