Light group with a smart plug

Hi guys

I’m new at HA, but I’m getting there, slowly :slight_smile: I hope you can help out a noob:

I have set up a bunch of light groups. One of the groups includes a smart plug (for a lamp which can’t be turned “smart” in any other way).

My lights.yaml:

- platform: group
  name: Basement Lights
  entities:
    - light.playbar_1
    - light.playbar_2
    - light.play_3
    - light.hugo
    - light.wiz_plug_1

I’m using Light Cards in my Lovelace UI in order to control the different groups. So far, so good.

basement

type: light
entity: light.grotten_lights
name: Basement

Everything works: Toggle lights, change color of lights and brightness slider.

Even though everything works, I’m getting this error when using the brightness slider:

Cant read response from the bulb. Debug: b'{"method":"setPilot","env":"pro","error":{"code":-32602,"message":"Invalid params"}}'

File "/config/custom_components/wiz_light

So, this tells me that the “issue” originates from the plug/the plug (the plug is a Wiz Smart Plug), and I’m quite confident that I’m getting the error because I’m trying to ‘brightness slide’ a plug - which is, obviously, not possible.

Everything sort of works, so I COULD just go on and live with the error. However, I just hate errors in logs, so I would really love to have it fixed or set up the “right” way. The error is showing every time I use the brightness slider: Link to screenshot

Should I somehow convert the light.wiz_plug_1 to a switch? I don’t think the Light Cards are able to include switches? Maybe I’m wrong.

What do you guys think? Any solutions? Remember, I’m quite new at this - please go easy on me :slight_smile:

1 Like

No you can not use switch entities in light groups.

How did you convert the switch (smart plug) to a light (light.wiz_plug_1)?

Are you sure it is not a switch, switch.wiz_plug_1 ?