Light on with conditions

Hello all, I’m still learning this.

I have a light called “lamp”. I’ve managed to get it to turn on 1 hour before sunset - great. Turning off not an issue - Alexa does this whenever we choose it’s bed time.

I’m stuck with how to get it to turn on if it’s cloudy after sun-rise, and before the above sunset setting kicks in. I’ve tried the “cloudiness” setting of yr - but nowhere can I find what the values are - is 0 sunny, 1 cloudy, or a percentage or ??

If someone could give me an example of what to put in which yaml I’d be very grateful.

Even better would be there’s 2 of us with phones - peters_iphone and janes_iphone, If the cloudy condition only kicks in when we’re at home perfect. I have the house/phone location bits working.

To clarify, always come on 1 hour before sunset. If it gets cloudy during the day (and either of us are at home) also come on. Don’t come on if it’s cloudy at night or any time that both of are phones are out. If it stops being cloudy during the day, the lamp should turn off.

I could do this quite easily in C, BASIC, or even COBOL, but yaml takes some getting used to.

Many thanks, Peter.

Group the entities that define if you’re at home, then you can use the state of the group being 'home' to tell if anybody is home.

For night vs day, you can use the state of sun.sun. If it’s 'above_horizon' then it’s daytime, and 'below_horizon' for night.

I don’t have the YR sensor, but looking at the docs show that there’s a low/medium/high clouds sensor. The cloudiness sensor will have an attribute telling you the units if you look at it in the dev-states menu. For this I’ll assume percentage for cloudiness, that the cloudiness sensor is sensor.yr_cloudiness, and that you’ve grouped the trackers in group.my_people:

automation:
  - alias: 'Turn on lamp'
    trigger:
      - platform: numeric_state
        entity_id: sensor.yr_cloudiness
        above: 20
        for:
          minutes: 10
      - platform: state