Lights... I must be a bit dim

Hello. I’ve got these stupid “colour night vision” security cameras. Didn’t realize when I got them that colour night vision actually means no_night_vision_at_all_when_the_camera_mounted_led_is_off! Completely useless for indoor use. So i’ve installed them at the front and back doors of the house. At night they are configured outside of HA at 10% brightness. This is fine for surveillance. As a deterrent and to assist me find my way up the stairs at night, i’d like to integrate the led with the frigate person occupancy sensor. I’ve been messing about and have been able to replicate the relevant POST requests to set the led brightness anywhere between 0 and 100 and to retrieve the current LED value programmatically on the PI where the HA is running. Now, i’m a HA noob. I admit it. I’ve spent about a week failing to be able to implement these c programs as scripts in home assistant. I gave up trying to run them as scripts in HA but to instead run the program as a daemon and interface with mqtt. This looks promising at first, my device is discovered by HA, i can publish state changes and see HA doing the same but the entity state value is forever “unknown”… Ack… Before i got into excruciating details about my config and what done, what would you do? We can programatically affect changes to the led and retrieve it’s current status. What’s the path of least resistance here? I want to be able to set the scene when my alarmo is triggered or enable a frigate motion sensor when i walk down the stairs at night. Am I on the right track? Should I be looking at taking this in a new direction? Appreciate your advice! Cheers

I love the pun in your title :wink:

Is that necessary to use frigate or do you only want it to work when it recognises (or doesn’t recognise) a particular person?