LimitlessLED MiLight starts dimmed if turned off with Hass and then at wall

Hi,

I’m a complete noob, first week of using Hass. Copied and pasted the LimitlessLed config and got the light working.

However, have noticed something I feel is odd… is this normal behaviour for the MiLight bulbs to turn on dimmed?

Steps to reproduce:

1. Light is on, full brightness
  2. Switch off with Hass
  3. Switch back on with Hass (remembers full brightness)
  4. Turn off light with Hass
  5. Later, girlfriend attempts to turn on the light with the physical wall switch (standard light switch), realises that it was already on at the switch, and flips it again to turn light back on
  6. Light turns on, but dimmed right down

Result = girlfriend gets angry for having to get her phone out to turn the brightness back up :-/

I’m using Raspian Jessie Lite Jan 2017 and the All-in-One installation on 0.38.3 on a Raspberry Pi 2.

Thanks,
Tim.

Hi Tim, unfortunately this is normal behaviour for the light. It remembers it’s last state before it was turned off. In your case it remembers it was off so defaults to it’s ‘off’ state.
My wife also gets annoyed with it. I’ve just ordered a Xiaomi Yeelight. I believe you can tell them what the default state should be when the power is turned back on.
Will let you know. They are similar price.
If I find a solution I will let you know. I have emailed the company I bought them off to see if they have a solution that doesn’t mean resorting to a phone

I’m also experiencing the same behaviour and indeed it’s very annoying. I automated some scripts which can be fired of via Tasker and httppost commands but that’s still a lot more of a hassle than simply switching a lightswitch (Home Automation is supposed to make things easier right? :blush:)

Ahh, that sucks. Yes, please let me know how the Yeelight performs!

Thanks.

Yeah, it’s not gonna cut it with the girlfriend that’s for sure! This could be the end of the road for MiLight and me.