List all switch entities

First: i’m not a coder, but i try to make stuff
I’m working on getting all my stuff into imperihome and dont want to do it all maually.
Is there a way to list all entity_id’s of switches ? (and the same for sensors)

Open the “hamburger menu” (i.e., image) in the upper left of your main page. Then in the developer tools select the “states” icon (image). Then uncheck the Attributes box.

That gets a list of all of the entity_id’s in your system. You will see all of the switches start with switch.

You don’t say what you want to do with the list of entity_id’s. If you’re going to use them in a template sensor, or send them in a notification, etc., and you can use a template, then the following template will create a list of all switch entity_id’s:

{{ states.switch|map(attribute='entity_id')|list }}

Or if you want a comma separated string instead:

{{ states.switch|map(attribute='entity_id')|join(', ') }}
4 Likes

Just a quick one - why

{{ states.switch|map(attribute='entity_id')|list }}

works, but

{{ states.zwave|map(attribute='node_id')|list }}

doesn’t?
It returns

[Undefined, Undefined, ...., Undefined]

BTW, I actually need a list of all my zwave entities in AppDaemon but came across this thread.
An answer to both will be a bonus :smiley:
Thanks!

I don’t know why it doesn’t work, but do you really need the node_id? It will just be a list of numbers.

{{ states.zwave|map(attribute='entity_id')|list }}

Will give you a list of the entity ids of all zwave. Entities.

Because HA is very bad about consistency of terms. Try this:

{{ states.zwave|map(attribute='attributes.node_id')|list }}
2 Likes

Do you mean all your zwave.xxx entities? Or all the other entity types associated with zwave.xxx entities (like switch.xxx, light.xxx, etc.)? For the former use @Burningstone’s suggestion. For the latter, uh … good question!