Local USB Camera

Hi there! I’m new to this whole home assistant thing, so apologies in advance, but I have tried searching around to see if anyone else is having my problem, and none of the solutions I found have worked.

Basically I just want to display my USB camera on my HA dashboard. The camera is plugged into the Raspberry Pi 4 (8GB) which is running HA. I can’t see any issues with the camera, I’m able to record video from it via ffmpeg when running as the homeassistant user, so that all seems to be fine.

I first started experimenting with the FFMPEG integration, and whacked the following in config.yml:

camera:
  - platform: ffmpeg
    name: local_usb_cam
    input: -i /dev/video0
    extra_arguments: -f video4linux2

Then when I restart HA, camera shows up in the media section, and there’s even a little thumbnail which looks right! However, when I try to view it I get this in the terminal:

2024-06-15 15:34:05.190 ERROR (stream_worker) [root] Uncaught thread exception
Traceback (most recent call last):
    output_vstream = container.add_stream(template=input_vstream)
                     ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
  File "av/container/output.pyx", line 85, in av.container.output.OutputContainer.add_stream
ValueError: 'mp4' format does not support None codec

Okay, seems there’s some issues with codecs. I’ve tried adding -c:v libx264 -preset ultrafast -b:v 600k to extra_arguments and I still get the same error message AND the thumbnail no longer displays. If I add it to the input field I get a new error:

2024-06-15 15:40:52.229 ERROR (stream_worker) [homeassistant.components.stream.stream.camera.local_usb_cam] Error from stream worker: Error opening stream (ERRORTYPE_2, No such file or directory) 600k

After a bit of trial and error, it looks like that error is caused because something tried to open a stream at whatever the last argument in input field is, in this case 600k.