Logical Sensor Names

Please forgive me in advanced if this question has already been addressed or I have missed some functionality that has been implemented already. I have been using Home Assistant for many years, a great but frustrating product. I appreciate all the work but management of these environments is very time consuming and certainly not working as a turnkey setup for the non technical. I currently have 3 installation for family members that I look after with 100’s of lines of yaml automations. One of my biggest frustrations that I can’t seem to find the answer to is the lack of a logical sensor name to physical sensor name translation function. A few years ago there was an entity id table, but access to that has disappeared. As I understand it you cannot use friendly name( because of spaces etc.) in yaml. So I am stuck with names like ‘binary_sensor.smoke_sensor_158d00XXXXX’. I use a lot of xiaomi sensors over 20 per site. If you need to change a sensor you need to hunt through all your automation scripts and change the physical name. If you want to write a new automation and propagate it to other sites you need to change the physical sensor name for each installation. I get around this in many cases using generic automation scripts that use entries in the secrets file to create logical names. I also creating groups (eg group.door_sensors) to represent logical sensors. using these tools allows changes to be made to either of these files to be propagated down to generic automations. This has limitations, especially in group sensors. Is there a table somewhere where I can translate a logical sensor name to a physical sensor name (eg. hall_smoke_detector to binary_sensor.smoke_sensor_158d00XXXXX), so I can write generic automation scripts using logical sensor names and therefore lesson the work associated with a sensor change or setting up a new installation. I see there is some new fuctionality associated with blueprints using !input, but this looks like