Long-lived access token issued by non-admin does not work

Hi. I’m really new to HA and stumbled upon this, which had me scratch my head for a day.

Goal, problem and solution…
My goal was to update a sensor state (state of connection to a specific bluetooth device) from my 2 users (user1 and user2) mobile phones via the Tasker app. I used this guide and in particular this commenters “HA set-state” tasks, and it worked like a charm on my (user1) account, which is an admin account.

However, trying to do the same with the non-admin account (user2), using user2 long-lived token, gave me an error 401 unauthorised numerous times. The problem solved itself when I made said account an admin.

System:
version: core-2021.12.4
installation_type: Unknown
dev: false
hassio: false
docker: true
user: abc
virtualenv: false
python_version: 3.9.5
os_name: Linux
os_version: 5.4.0-91-generic
arch: x86_64

Tl;dr: long lived access token issued by non-admin user gives an “error 401 unauthorized”, problem disappears when said user is made an admin.

Question: is this by design or is it an error?

Yes it is by design, the code restricting this API to admins is here. Ideally it would return a 403 Forbidden to make it clear it knows who you are and you aren’t allowed to do what you’re trying to do instead of a 401 Unauthorized which seems like it could be a bug (like it misunderstood your credentials). But it is definitely not a bug and by design.

It also makes a lot of sense. Directly setting values into the state machine is an advanced task primarily for debugging purposes. Hence why the UI only shows that option in developer tools, a panel only available for admins.