Looking for easy smart devices to get started as a beginner

Hello,
I’m looking for some recommendations on which smart devices are good to get started with Home Assistant.
I’m new to automation, but have a technical construction background. So I was able to install the Hass.IO on a Raspberry Pi and get it up and running. However, I haven’t been able to figure out how to connect smart devices to HA. I have a couple of smart devices (TV, Nest Thermostat, myQ garage opener, Google Cast, Phillips Wiz wi-fi bulb, cheap/foreign LED strip lights, etc) I tried searching for some articles on here, but everything seemed really specific to certain devices that I either don’t have or required some additional programming that’s above my current skill/knowledge level. At this point, I just want to try to get devices grouped together to get smart devices into my HA before I start buying stuff that’s not compatible or proprietary (like what I’ve read about with the google/Nest devices). Therefore, I was hoping I could get some good recommendations of a device(s) to try out that will help me learn the basics with HA while not breaking the bank or committing to additional paid subscriptions. I’m expecting my first child in May… so I’m trying to avoid spending a lot of $$ upfront :pray:, in case for some reason Home Automation just doesn’t click… (basically so my wife doesn’t kill me for wasting $$ on a hobby that’s out of my league :shushing_face: haha :innocent:)
Any advice is much appreciated! Thanks in advance!

:beers: Cheers,
Nick

Nick,

Welcome! My own background includes construction, and 36 years in IT. I’ve been using HA for about a year now and I still consider myself a raw beginner. There is just SO much to learn, especially if you’re not already a Unix expert.