Looking for hardware ideas for audio distribution

Hi there,

Complete and total HA noob here.

We’re building a new house and I’ve got it wired suitably for network and such.

Main A/V will be in the living room where I’ve got a 7/1 system planned that will be controlled with a Yamaha AVR suitable for integration with HA.

I’ve got a Synology NAS with Emby that I use for media distribution.

LOML has expressed a desire for audio in a couple of other rooms. I’m planning more ceiling mount speakers, but I’m struggling with how to drive them. I’ve got an eye level outlet on the wall that I’m going to put an Android tablet on to control the local audio. At present I’ve got two zones to feed.

What I’m searching for, rather unsuccessfully, is a means to drive the speakers.

Initially I thought I’d grab a couple of the now deprecated Chromecast audio dohicky’s and plug them into a Lepai (or similar) amp, but this seem a bit backwoods, and goodness knows how long the Chromecast things will be viable before my “friends” at Google kill them. I would also rather not have hardware “calling home” from my HA system.

I’ve looked at the Monoprice 6 zone home amplifier, but this seems overkill and a bit of a cluge with the serial interface.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

I have the monoprice amp (2 here shortly), and I have them sourced by a couple of chromecasts, my TVs, and Apple TV.

I hate having Google in my home, but their Audio Chromecasts are the best. I have tried a couple of different ideas, and none of them worked as well.

Here are some other options:
Sonos.
Pros: Sound and grouping are nothing short of amazing.
Cons: They are very impressed with themselves and ask you to pay for it.

Logitech Media Server:
NOTE: I just did some test bench stuff.
Pros: Will do the synch well.