Looking for Zigbeegateway

Dear HASS gurus,

I am new to HASS and I am considering to add more integration to my HASS. I am running HASS on a Linux server which I have at home through docker. The Zigbee device I am using is Philips Hue bridge and tens of Hue light bulbs. I wish to add more Zigbee devices incl. temp/humidity sensor, motion sensor, etc.

My intention is to use existing hardware as much as possible, but it seems impossible to add a generic Zigbee device to Hue bridge. So I have some options:

a. Use Xiaomi Aqara Gateway and Xiaomi’s sensor. But not sure whether it’s working with Hue light bulbs as well. And I wish to have the gateway be connected via Ethernet instead of wireless. And I am in Europe so if I buy from AliExpress, the delivery time is unpredictable.

b. Use IKEA trĂĄdfri Gateway or some third-party Zigbee gateway. I am not sure what kind of gateway has a good compatibility with HASS?

c. Go for ZWave. I’d rather not do this because I have tens of Hue bulb.

Long story short, I am looking for a good Zigbee gateway with good compatibility. Preferably low-cost and Ethernet connected.

Thanks in advance!

You can check zigbee2mqtt (good compatibility with lots of devices)

Deconz is a USB dongle that plugs into your Home assistant host? Just be sure to use a USB extension cable to get the Dongle away from any interference.

The added bonus is Deconz has a HassIO add-on, I plugged it into my PI, installed the add-on and it mostly just worked (but worked much faster with better range after I added my 1mtr extension cable).

1 Like

Thanks for the recomendations @francisp and @Coedy.
The connection quality is also one of the things I am thinking. As currently I am pretty sure every Hue light bulb is also acting as an extender for Zigbee mesh connection. How is this working with zigbee2mqtt or Deconz? I have read some articles said that zigbee2mqtt does not have a good mesh supporting.