Looping through all states in for_each loop

Hello,

I am new to home assistant and I am trying to use script for looping through specific entities. However, I am unable to get even a simplest example to work, which indicates that I am stuck in some basic error in the yaml syntax or something. Why does the first log call work, but the for-each loop doesn’t? The loop doesn’t seem to be working at all.

alias: Toggle Lights
mode: single
sequence:
  - service: logbook.log
    data_template:
      name: Script
        Blabla: {% for state in states %}{{ state.entity_id }}{% endfor %} 
  - repeat:
      for_each: '{{ states }}'
      sequence:
          data_template:
            name: Script

I believe for_each: '{{ states }}' is returning a string but you need a list to iterate around. This appears to work:

repeat:
  for_each: |
    {{ expand(states) | map(attribute="entity_id") | list }}
  sequence:
      data:
        name: testing
          {{ repeat.item }}

Not expert on this stuff, but a bit of googling round the forums and trial and error got me to a working point. Hopefully you can take it forward from here.

3 Likes

Depending on what data you wish to extract, it may not even be necessary to use a for-loop or for_each in order to get it. The Jinja2 templating language contains filters that allow you to select data without ‘looping’.

Is your application truly to write every entity_id existing in your system to the log? Or is that just an experiment and you have another application in mind?

1 Like

Thanks, dudes - I got it working, but it turned out to be faster to concatenate entity id’s and pass them as strin in eg. turn_on service. It turned out to be a simple syntax issue, but I don’t recall what was wrong. This works:

- service: light.turn_on
    data:
      entity_id: >-
        {{ states | selectattr('entity_id', 'match', 'light.blabla*') |
        selectattr('state', 'eq', 'off') | map(attribute='entity_id') | join(',') }}