Lovelace: Add deep press (3D touch) to existing cards

This is not really a card, it adds deep press functionality (aka 3D touch) to already existing cards in Home Assistant Lovelace UI.

It can be used to mimic an iOS interface.

It works really well together with custom button-card to create an interface similar to Apple Home.
If the device doesnt support 3D tuch, such as a desktop, it will simply work the same as the regular hold_action in Lovelace except adding a blur effect.

See github for instructions, but in short you just add this mod to your ui-lovelace.yaml resources sections and add deep_press: true to any card you want it to apply to.

Notes: It is only really tested on button-card and entity-button
If you have any problems or further ideas, make a github issue.
Also, I am NOT a javascript developer so this can probably be done in a better way but its working really well so far.
The technique to apply changes to existing cards is based off of card-mod

8 Likes

You don’t have a link to your repo listed

I’m a genius… Edited OP with the link

2 Likes

Cool stuff :+1:

1 Like

I will test this immediately. Man if this works as I think it will, no longer will I have to fight with the long press action :stuck_out_tongue:

If it doesn’t, let me know and i’ll try to improve it!

It is working really great and it is actually better than I had expected. This is what I have been looking for for a while now (only thing left to look for is a vertical brightness slider to use with this so it will be more Homekit-esque).

Thanks a lot for sharing this, only thing I have found is that sometimes the blur will stay, another 3d touch press will eliminate the blur, but it is definitely there.
Anyways awesome work, I have this adapted throughout my setup right now and I love it.

Edit: it does something like this sometimes

Honestly it might be caused by the popup card, but I will try out some more.

Edit 2: nope, does is normal cards too.