Lutron Caseta on new hassbian: pylutron-caseta 0.2.6 can't install?

Hi all. I’m totally new to Home Assistant (literally just installed it) so I apologize if I don’t post correctly.

I tried to set up my Lutron Smart Bridge (non-pro) and after following the instructions, verifying my config within home assistant, it wasn’t working. The log file says:

17-05-04 21:55:07 ERROR (MainThread) [homeassistant.setup] Not initializing lutron_caseta because could not install dependency https://github.com/gurumitts/pylutron-caseta/archive/v0.2.6.zip#pylutron-caseta==v0.2.6
17-05-04 21:55:07 ERROR (MainThread) [homeassistant.setup] Setup failed for lutron_caseta: Could not install all requirements.

I checked ou gurumitts’ GitHub repo for pylytron and it doesn’t look like 0.2.6 is an actual release yet. Any ideas what’s going on or what I can do?

I’m running HA 0.43.2 installed via a brand-new hassbian image on a Pi 2.

Hey,

I have a feeling its due to the paramiko libs. Can you try:

sudo apt-get install build-essential libssl-dev libffi-dev python-dev

More information can be found here: https://github.com/home-assistant/home-assistant/issues/6806

That was exactly it! After a restart everything was detected (my lutron stuff is all wall dimmers and lamp dimmers) and working perfectly.

Thanks so much for the response & help. I’m sorry I didn’t think to check the issues on the repo before posting.

1 Like

Awesome. I am glad its working out.

New and trying to set this up. Getting the same error even after running the command.
Suggestions as to next steps?

Is there anything else in the logs?

Yes there is more…[FYI using a PI2, Hassbian, and HA 0.44.1]

2017-05-16 19:13:03 WARNING (MainThread) [homeassistant.setup] Setup of sensor is taking over 10 seconds.