Maidesite Standing Desk with ESPHome

My findings getting this desk working with ESPHome

2 Likes

For anyone interested, my test code so far is here GitHub - shades66/Maidesite-standing-desk: My experimentations with connecting a Maidesite PRO 2 standing desk controller to HomeAssist

I was following another great thread on here around how to integrate with HA/ESPHome by tapping into the control & serial lines between the controller & handset but when I received my standing desk it looks like Maidesite changed the design so instead of a separate control box & handset everything is now contained within the handset itself. While I suspect a lot of what others have found would be do-able on this new handset it could easily void any warranties/guarantees pretty quickly I decided to see what could be done via the RJ12 socket which this machine does have. It has no mention Jiecang anywhere on the hardware/instructions I started playing with some information found off that thread and pretty quickly got the basics working. The hardest part was trying to get information to make the desk move to a specific position but eventually found someone had created a spreadsheet with a ton of useful information which suggests the controller is probably made by Jiecang or based on their design so is possibly usable by other brands that have an RJ12 connector.

So far working is

• Button to trigger any of the 4 presets
  • Button to move UP/DOWN
  • Slider to move direct to a height
  • Get current settings for height & presets

Todo

• Tidy up code (remove test stuff)
  • Make it retrieve the current height automatically (you need to press the test button at the start)
  • Add buttons to create presets based on current height
  • Look into automations to automatically lower after alarms/no-one at desk

hope it is of use to someone else with this desk.

1 Like

Great work @Shades66.

I am planing to automate my Maidesite Desk, just waiting for the RJ12 cable to arrive.