Mailbox sensor running on batteries

Hi there!
I’m fairly new to Home Assistant and ESPHome. My first project will be a battery powered mailbox sensor. Here’s the hardware I’ve got:

• Various controllers (ESP32C6, C3, H2 and classic ESP32, also ESP8266)
  • Reed switch
  • Li-Ion battery pack

My idea is to use the switch as a wake-up signal on the controller. When the mailbox is opened, the controller shall wake up and send a notification to my mobile phone.
I already tested that with a small bit of C+±code and MQTT for messeging, and it works quite well.

Now I would like to migrate my project to ESPHome and Home Assistant. But the following is not clear to me:

• How can I make the device deep sleep indefinitely with ESPHome (until a wakeup pin kicks in)?
  • How can I only trigger a single notification via ESPHome and then go back to deep sleep?
  • What kind of notification mechanism can be used from ESPHome to Home Assistant to the HomeAssistant smartphone app? Or would it be better send an E-Mail or something?

Thanks!

Check out the esphome documents. Lots of good tips there.

1 Like

While not a ESPHome based solution, I 've had two mailboxes being monitored for 6 months with this Zigbee based solution. It was easy to setup, very low cost and has been very reliable.

Good hunting!

It’s much easier to use some battery rf device on your mailbox and plug powered Esphome receiving that signal. It could be modified remote control fob, or wireless doorbell or @dproffer vibration sensor. Idea is same.

1 Like

RF door sensors can be a good fit (reed switch).

There’s plenty around.

1 Like

I’ve seen quite a lot of similar projects around the forum, so it’s worth searching a bit more.

I agree, even easier with that . But range is often not so good (for my experiences).
Anyway, the concept is same.
Rf remote fob can have a range of few hundred feets and battery life of few years. Try to beat that with “deep sleep battery esphome setup”…

1 Like