Manually setting 'backlight' attribute on Zigbee MOES Tuya lightswitch with ZHA toolkit (TS0014)

I have a MOES Tuya lightswitch that is detected as ‘generic device’ in ZHA. Supposedly, it should have backlight, but it seems it can only be enabled trough the app. I can see that ZHA supports other similar devices, so I’m trying to simply find and set the right attribute.
(I’m really new to all HA stuff, maybe 10-15hrs in in total, but not new to programming, tinkering with phone firmwares etc, so I kinda have a vague idea of what I’m doing)

From what I understand this device is not supported in ZHA directly, but as a generic lightswitch it works fine, all buttons trigger both ways (to and from the dashboard) and I was able to do a few automations between a couple of these switches.

To find out what the backlight might be I had a look at ZHA device handles source code and I can see that it’s supposed to be cluster 6 (on_off) attribute 0x8001.

class TuyaZBOnOffAttributeCluster(TuyaEnchantableCluster, OnOff):
    """Tuya Zigbee On Off cluster with extra attributes."""

attributes = OnOff.attributes.copy()
    attributes.update({0x8000: ("child_lock", t.Bool)})
    attributes.update({0x8001: ("backlight_mode", SwitchBackLight)})
    attributes.update({0x8002: ("power_on_state", PowerOnState)})
    attributes.update({0x8004: ("switch_mode", SwitchMode)})

https://github.com/zigpy/zha-device-handlers/blob/4ea1668256396cf2254cd32a40bf785e698de6bd/zhaquirks/tuya/__init__.py#L966

I did a scan on the device with the toolkit and I can see the general structure is quite as I’d expect with 0x8001 and 0x8002 attributes where they are supposed to be as far as I understand.
However, when I read 0x8001 attribute it’s already set to 1 (on every button of every switch), which is somewhat suspicious. Also when I write pretty much anything into that attribute nothing happens.