Manupulating variables in scripts and automations

It is possible to set local variables. However, it seems these variables are static only or there is something special with their scope. See the following example where I introduced the variable currentcycle. The helper is set to 2 in the first loop cycle, but stays there. I expected it to count to 3. Am I a complete noob or what am I missing?

alias: A VARIABLE TEST
description: Using a local script variable and show it in a helper
variables:
  currentcycle: 0
sequence:
  - repeat:
      count: '3'
      sequence:
        - service: variable.set_variable
          data:
            variable: helper_current_cycle
            value: '{% set currentcycle =+ 1 %}{{ currentcycle }}'
mode: single

You called this twice in the loop. The second time with no data:

I am sorry, that was a copy paste mistake for the example, but not the cause of this issue. I removed that with the same result. here is the debug output. Notice that the helper value stays 1

Iteration 1
Executed: 13 mei 2022 16:32:03
Result:

params:
  domain: variable
  service: set_variable
  service_data:
    value: 1
  target: {}
running_script: false
limit: 10

Iteration 2
Result:

params:
  service_data:

Iteration 3
Result:

params:
  service_data:

The reason it behaves the way it does is due to the use of the += operator. The variable always gets reset.

Compare the results of using += and + in the Template Editor:

It’s the loop scope on variables inside automations. Which have similiar limitations to jinja. They aren’t the same as you can get around it in jinja with namespace. In automations, you can get around it with a counter entity.

EDIT: Just to clarify further here. The real limitation is that you cannot alter an existing variable in the current namespace of an automation.